Tuesday, May 28, 2024

The National Film Awards UK  is an annual awards ceremony produced by the National Film Academy to celebrate the achievements of established and independent filmmakers , actors , actresses, casting directors, production companies and crew who make up the motion picture industry.

Nominations & Voting Process:
The National Film Awards is one of the only motion picture award shows to offer the public an opportunity to both nominate and vote for all categories. There are 18 categories nominated and voted for by the public except the Lifetime Achievement Award category. The nominees for the Lifetime Achievement Award are submitted by the National Film Academy executive board and Academy members and the general public vote for the subsequent winner of the prestigious award. Previous winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award include;

Dame Judi Dench – 2015 National Film Academy- Recipient
Dame Helen Mirren – 2016 National Film Academy- Recipient

The National Film Awards UK Entry categories:
Best Actor
Best Actress
Best Newcomer
Best Breakthrough Performance in a Film
Best Supporting Actress
Best Supporting Actor
Best International Film
Best Comedy
Best Action
Best Drama
Best Independent Feature
Best Documentary
Best Thriller
Best British Film
Best Director
Best Screenplay
Best Foreign Language Film
Global Contribution to Motion Picture

The National Film Awards holds 4 events annually in the United Kingdom, USA, South America, Africa and Australia with a planned expansion into 14 countries by 2019. All nominations and voting for the NFA are submitted and voted for by movie fans.

The NFA is produced by the National Film Academy who also produces the new National Film Festival.